Praça da Figueira, 18 B-C1100-241 Lisboa
Founded in 1829 by Baltazar Roiz Castanheiro, it is the oldest confectionery of downtown Lisbon and belongs to the same family for six generations. The first Portuguese king’s cake was made there, according to a secret recipe brought from France. The store retains the original architecture and inside the murals and furniture of the nineteenth century were restored. Also reopened to the public and recovered was the tea room on the first floor, with a unique vintage décor. Pretexts for a visit are plentiful: custard tarts, cakes, cookies, scones and various sweets, all home-made.